h1

To Disheartened Republicans who Gave Change a Chance

November 16, 2008

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!!!!

I’m so sorry that things have not worked out for you these last eight years. Things haven’t worked out for a whole lot of us…….more than three quarters of the population of this great land.

You have NOT deserted your party by voting for a Democrat. Your party, such as it stands right now, has deserted YOU, or at the very least, it has not been keeping YOUR best interests in mind. This is how I, a Democrat (who could very well be wrong in my perception;  if so, please, set me straight. I’m autistic too, which means I might not be able to interpret things quite correctly…..what certain things mean….etcetera.)..perceive what’s going on.

I’m a somewhat socially conservative Democrat. Here’s a bit of background…….I’m a devout eastern Orthodox Christian……against abortion on demand…….(notice the words ON DEMAND………I don’t think it should be forbidden for a woman with serious health risks to have an abortion if doing so will save her life.)….I don’t agree with the idea of cohabitation (but hey, if people are into that, it’s none of my business, and if someone tells me they cohabitate, I’m not going to tell them I disapprove. I have friends who cohabitate.) I don’t agree with premarital sex (been there, done it, confessed, etcetera). I believe that welfare should be a last resort and temporary, but there should be more help for people to find work. I believe that everyone should do what they are ABLE to do in terms of contributing to society and improving themselves.

I hate the idea of pork barrel spending. However, one person’s pork might be another person’s bread and butter. Or something like that. Evaluate each extra item to fund carefully. How is a certain state spending money on something or other going to benefit a) the people living in the immediate vicinity of the area to receive funds for x or y project or building or whatever; b) the population of that state receiving funds for x or y, and/or c) the nation as a whole.

Someone please correct me if I’m wrong, but to me, conservative means frugality (not only in terms of money but in terms of any resource.) conservation (of food, water, the environment…….) each person or family living within their means……

having ten houses and fifteen expensive cars is not exactly my idea of conservative………not when so many others don’t even have the luxury of a roof over their heads. We can argue ad infinitum about how said people got into that situation, but the bottom line is, the more people who can contribute to society, the better off we are. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

Anyway…….back to sharing my appreciation with conservatives (and independents too) for giving change a chance.

I sincerely hope you are not disappointed (and I hope that for myself and fellow Democrats too)……Do not view this as a failure on your part……that somehow Senator McCain did not get elected because of your failure as Republicans. You have a lot of work to do…….in terms of taking back your party. I hope you do it…….

It’s one very patriotic thing to do…….to take back your party. We as a nation cannot afford more of the divisiveness that was rampant during the past eight years of the Bush presidency. Great empires have fallen because of divisiveness and infighting between members of the ruling classes (think Roman empire……Greek empire……..boy do I wish I had some citations for this……)

We’re not an empire anymore……..at least not in terms of ruling vast amounts of territory…….but we do have a very important role in global affairs……..we cannot have fights “in our house” and then expect to be taken seriously when we want to tell other people to get their “houses” (nations) in a certain order……..

I didn’t vote for Obama simply because he’s a Democrat. I voted for him because I felt he was the most capable person running, to start dealing with the huge mess we’re in right now. If the candidates had been…..say……..John Kerry versus John McCain (circa 2000, not 2008) I would really have to think about my vote. I’d have to think about Congress……..because even though I personally consider myself socially conservative on certain issues, I do NOT relish the idea of a Supreme Court with a large rightward majority. I don’t want to see Roe v. Wade overturned……)

a Democratic congress and McCain………I could deal with that, if it were him or Kerry of 2004…….maybe Mr. Kerry has toughened up since then. I held my nose and voted for him in 2004 because I couldn’t stand Bush……he’s had way too many yes-people…….and not enough control over his own administration.)

I’m pulling for you Republicans……hoping that you are able to take back your party sooner rather than later……..have more Hagels and Snowes and Specters……..and McCains even (circa 2000, not 2008) rather than Palins and Cheneys and Roves…….for your leaders. And if you are so inclined, become Republican leaders YOURSELVES! We need you……..for a healthy balance. A nation gone way to the left is just as bad as one gone way to the right……….

Yes You Can!

-all of us

6 comments

  1. Oh, I didn’t vote FOR McCain. I voted against Obama. I’d rather have had Fred Thompson or Tom Tancredo. Or Barr, or even Romney. So I voted for Sarah and “that old guy” to try to stop the O-hole. He scares the pee out of me and may well preside over the final end of what’s left of the Republic. Obama is not really American, culturally. I dread the people he’s likely to appoint as judges.

    I am not a Republican. I would describe myself as an old fashioned, or Pre-Bryan, Democrat. That’s why I’m registered as a Libertarian, as the closest thing these days.

    I am for:

    Small government

    Small farms

    Small business, and

    Small arms.

    (Just like the Founders


  2. “Someone please correct me if I’m wrong, but to me, conservative means frugality (not only in terms of money but in terms of any resource.) conservation (of food, water, the environment…….)”

    Okay, you said to correct you, so here goes. That’s NOT what the Bush Administration meant by “Conservative”. It’s supposed to mean “fiscal responsibility” as opposed to “tax and spend”, or the concept of “laissez faire”, as in “let the gov’t let us alone”, or the Reaganism “The government is the PROBLEM, not the solution!”

    So what DID the Bush Administration mean by “Conservatism”? Beats the hell outta me, maybe that he wanted everyone who voted for Reagan and his Dad to vote for him, plus the “religious right” that he catered to. And “conservationism”, though a similar word, is an entirely different concept, one that Bush certainly didn’t adhere to.

    All together, a great post. I agree with you on nearly everything, except that I’m a bit more liberal re abortion. I’m OLD, Athena et al, so old I can remember the Consequences of when a girl “got in trouble”. They were all very serious consequences. I believe that Everyone makes mistakes, whether it’s just a mathematical error, or a “teenage-romantic-naivete” mistake, and I don’t think that a person should have to pay for that mistake their whole lives, or even 20 years.
    The only limitation I would put on abortion is time.
    I’m not in favor of doing it past the 5th month, and believe that several months notice is sufficient for that particular decision to be made.


  3. Oh yeah, and I agree that McCain might have been a decent President, had he been elected in 2000. He would have HAD to be a lot better than Cheney/Bush has been. I’m sure he wouldn’t have attacked Iraq for no good reason, and lied to us all about why he was doing it. And he just might have actually done something to prevent this mortgage meltdown/bank failure business.


  4. Justthisguy: Tom Tancredo believed in banning all future immigration to this country, legal, illegal, whatever. He believed that all people who have already come from abroad must become just like everyone else (born in the usa) and lose their own identities.

    He scared the pee out of ME.

    Sarah Palin was plain out not qualified to be a heartbeat away from the presidency.

    The Integral


  5. “Someone please correct me if I’m wrong, but to me, conservative means frugality (not only in terms of money but in terms of any resource.) conservation (of food, water, the environment…….)”

    Okay, you said to correct you, so here goes. That’s NOT what the Bush Administration meant by “Conservative”. It’s supposed to mean “fiscal responsibility” as opposed to “tax and spend”, or the concept of “laissez faire”, as in “let the gov’t let us alone”, or the Reaganism “The government is the PROBLEM, not the solution!”

    Clay, I was defining (or attempting to define) conservatism based on some sort of reality, not what the Bush Administration made it out to be. Good point though. People often forget that the last eight years has been everything BUT conservative in many cases (fiscal spending gone wild…..etcetera).


  6. Wow, Integral! I had no idea Tancredo wanted to go that far. I like him even more, now. I recommend that you familiarise yourself with the concepts of “American Exceptionalism” and “The Melting Pot.”

    Please buy a copy of “Albion’s Seed” and read it all the way through.

    For an idea of what thoughtful people think about the election of that creepy charismatic un-American mulatto, have a look at http://blog.robballen.com/archive/2008/11/10/fear-itself.aspx

    I sure hope this posts; I’ve spent about 3/4 hour and about 6 attempts trying to post this. Apparently it is not possible to drag a link to a comment, at your blog



Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

brovemberuk-blog

A brief summary of a early-middle aged man preparing to run a marathon

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

re-Education

Ideas about English, Drama and ICT in the classroom, as well as some broader musings

-Ten Strong-

A Look Inside The Mind Of A Multiple

Choirduck's corner

When the music fades, all is stripped away and I simply come

The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

dkmnow

David K. March And The Sociopolitical Blog Of Doom

Izendatzen

Something interesting

MathPhysBlog

Selected topics in Mathematical Physics

Tim Miller's Home of Fear and Darkness

Official Blog of Horror Author Tim Miller

helobiae

a celebration of life

Of Fries And Men

Fries and Men. Two things women can't resist. Warning: Content may contain detailed description of fries consumption. Not suitable for those on diet.

It's a Wunderful Life

Life with Twins and Autism from a Dad's Perspective

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

