h1

looking ahead to the future

January 31, 2008

Today was in every respect a total flop. I had a physics exam……….which should have been very easy, especially given the fact that my professor let me use my textbook to look up all of the equations…………I only finished two problems in THREE HOURS…………and they weren’t even all that hard, most likely. The problem is………and it’s likely going to be similar in several hours…………is STRESS. I didn’t realise how we would react to not being in a structured college program this semester, as we have been for the past two years………….we knew it was coming, but KNOWING something and EXPERIENCING it are two totally different animals.

Apologies to Athena and The Integral for not taking this stuff more seriously before………when the going gets rough I sometimes have a tendency to pretend everything is a joke…….or something else unhelpful like that………….mea culpa, big time. And double apologies to The Integral for tomorrow………….ouch, ouch, and ouch. Getting flummoxed by one’s namesake is hardly a wholesome or comforting experience.

I have been criticised in the past (by either Athena,  The Integral, or myself on occasion) of having very good inspirational pep talks with myself and the others but ultimately doing very little about whatever problems or difficulties we may be having. Our father calls it “putting one’s head in the sand.” Whatever words we may or may not use for it, it’s still negative, anxiety-producing, and alot of other things we don’t need or want, now or ever.

Two of our best friends handed us our ass today. Well, one today, the next tomorrow.

I might be down, but I’m certainly not out! None of us are. With that, we’re off to see the wizard, the wonderful wizard of Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!

Ivan

3 comments

  1. I’m generally fine with physics, but I have trouble with math. When I see a page full of math problems, part of my mind (figuratively) runs away screaming. Last math exam I had, I suspect I left half of it unfinished because I was too disoriented to realize the sheet had two sides!


  2. The math exam was a total flop too, in fact. So Ivan’s prediction in this post was correct…….

    Physics is more or less applied math……but perhaps you may have less trouble with applied math then? Or it looks less “mathy” in a physics problem?

    Not sure, but that’s interesting……

    I left probably more than half of my math exam unfinished……

    The Integral


  3. Bleh, this is one of those events which I’d rather not remember…..

    The Integral



Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

brovemberuk-blog

A brief summary of a early-middle aged man preparing to run a marathon

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

re-Education

Ideas about English, Drama and ICT in the classroom, as well as some broader musings

-Ten Strong-

A Look Inside The Mind Of A Multiple

Choirduck's corner

When the music fades, all is stripped away and I simply come

The Life You Save May Be Your Own

DID, knitting, sci-fi, and strong opinions

dkmnow

David K. March And The Sociopolitical Blog Of Doom

Izendatzen

Something interesting

MathPhysBlog

Selected topics in Mathematical Physics

Tim Miller's Home of Fear and Darkness

Official Blog of Horror Author Tim Miller

helobiae

a celebration of life

Of Fries And Men

Fries and Men. Two things women can't resist. Warning: Content may contain detailed description of fries consumption. Not suitable for those on diet.

It's a Wunderful Life

Life with Twins and Autism from a Dad's Perspective

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

